The following ERA-EDTA Awardees were announced on June 6, 2020 at the last 57th ERA-EDTA Virtual Congress, during the Welcome Ceremony.

ERA-EDTA Award for Outstanding Clinical Contributions to Nephrology

Kitty Jager

Kitty Jager (MD PhD) is a Professor of Medical Informatics & Kidney Epidemiology and Principal Investigator at the AMC/University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands. After obtaining a PhD on dialysis adequacy, she has led the department’s kidney epidemiology research group for 20 years and has been the ERA-EDTA Registry Director. She was member of the Advisory Board of the European Renal Best Practice, the EURECA-m Working Group Epidemiology and Biostatistics Advisory Board, the Global Kidney Health Atlas Steering Committee, the Nephrology Public Policy Committee, the ESPN/ERA-EDTA Registry Scientific Committee and the Research Council of the Dutch Kidney Foundation. Her research has focused on the prevalence and progression of CKD and the frequency of Kidney Replacement Therapy with focus on international differences and sex differences; and on the relationship of public health aspects and nephrology practice patterns with patient outcomes. She published more than 340 scientific articles and a high number of book chapters and reports (H-index: Web of Science 50; Google Scholar 72). She is part of the Editorial Boards of 4 indexed nephrology journals. Finally, she organised and lectured in almost 40 international CME courses in epidemiology for nephrologists and hosted 37 visiting nephrology researchers from 20 countries.

ERA-EDTA Award for Outstanding Basic Science Contributions to Nephrology

Paola Romagnani

Paola Romagnani, MD, PhD, graduated and obtained her doctorate in Endocrinology and her residency in Nephrology at the University of Florence, Italy.

She is Full Professor and Chair of Nephrology at the University of Florence and Head of the Nephrology and Dialysis Unit at the University Children’s Hospital Anna Meyer, Florence, Italy.Paola Romagnani has identified renal progenitors, the resident kidney stem cells, in adult kidney and demonstrated their capacity to generate novel podocytes as well as tubular cells, in mouse and human. She has characterized the renal progenitor response during glomerular disorders, after acute kidney injury and in renal cell carcinoma, unraveling the pathophysiology of several kidney diseases and identifying a novel promising therapeutic target. Paola Romagnani has published 190 papers with an H-index of 75. Her studies received over 19000 citations.  She served in the Editorial Board of JASN and KI. She is funded by national and international agencies and coordinated a European cooperative project. In 1999 she was awarded the Hoechst Marion Roussel Young Investigator Award. In 2007, she won the ERC Starting Grant. In 2014, she won the ERC Consolidator Grant.

From 2014 to 2019 she was a member of the ERA-EDTA Scientific Advisory Board (SAB).

ERA-EDTA Award for Research Excellence

Alberto Ortiz Arduan

Prof. Alberto Ortiz is Chief of Nephrology and Hypertension at the Health Research Institute of the Jiménez Díaz Foundation (IIS-FJD-UAM), Madrid, Spain and Professor of Medicine at the Autonomous University of Madrid (UAM). He is Editor-in-Chief for Clinical Kidney Journal, J Am Soc Nephrol Editorial Board member, Spanish Society of Nephrology (SEN) Council Member, a member of European Uremic Toxins (EUTox) and European Renal Best Practice (ERBP), coordinator of the Spanish Renal Research Network (REDINREN), Distinguished Fellow of the ERA-EDTA and Corresponding member of he Spanish Royal National Academy of Medicine. He was Chair of the Scientific Committee of the ERA-EDTA Congress 2019 in Budapest, member of the ERA-EDTA Scientific Advisory Board (SAB) and Vice Chair of the EURECA-m Working Group.

His current H-index is 75/92 (ISI-WOK/Google Scholar), has >47000 citations (Google Scholar), an accumulated Impact Factor of >3 500 and 6 patents or patent applications on therapy for kidney disease. His research interests include the pathogenesis and treatment of acute kidney injury, diabetic nephropathy and proteinuric and familial chronic kidney disease, vascular injury in kidney disease, Fabry disease and systems medicine.

ERA-EDTA Stanley Shaldon Award for Young Investigators

Martin De Borst

Martin de Borst is consultant nephrologist at the University Medical Center Groningen and adjunct professor of medicine at the University of Groningen, The Netherlands. His research is focused on cardio-renal medicine. His main scientific aim is to identify targetable factors and innovative treatments to prevent progressive kidney function loss and cardiovascular complications. So far, he has published >160 peer-reviewed articles in leading scientific journals including the New England Journal of Medicine, Lancet Diabetes and Endocrinology, and Nature Reviews Nephrology. His work is embedded in several national and international research consortia supported by the European Union, the Dutch Organization for Scientific Research (ZonMW/NWO), Dutch Kidney Foundation, and Dutch Heart Foundation. He supervises a team of eleven PhD students, three post-docs, two research analysts and many students. He is the co-founder of NOVO, a national platform that facilitates clinical trials and large cohort studies in the Netherlands. He is (co-)Principal Investigator of several multicenter clinical trials, including the K+ in CKD trial ( NCT03253172) and the EFFECT-KTx study (NCT03769441). Martin de Borst is Associate Editor of Nephrology Dialysis Transplantation. He is also chair of the Young Nephrologists’ Platform, the ERA-EDTA committee dedicated to promoting the development of young kidney specialists in Europe.