ERA-EDTA Award for Outstanding Clinical Contributions to Nephrology

David Jayne

David Jayne is Professor of Clinical Autoimmunity at the University of Cambridge, UK, and Director of the Vasculitis and Lupus service at Addenbrookes Hospital Cambridge. He trained at the Universities of Cambridge and London, and in nephrology at Harvard Medical School, Boston, USA. He was a research fellow at Imperial College London and the University of Cambridge and was appointed as a Senior Lecturer in Nephrology at St George’s Hospital London. Since 2001 he has been working in Cambridge where he is an Honorary Consultant Physician at Addenbrookes Hospital.
His research has focused on ANCA associated vasculitis and on the development of clinical trials to optimise current therapies and introduce new agents. Topics have included intravenous immunoglobulin, plasma exchange, mycophenolate mofetil and several newer immunosuppressives including avacopan and rituximab. In parallel, he has investigated newer therapies in SLE and lupus nephritis, including stem cell transplantation, mycophenolate mofetil and many immunomodulators. He is President of the European Vasculitis Society and coordinator of trials and academic meetings. He has published over 600 papers and has chaired or contributed to numerous guideline statements including the EULAR-ERA task force on lupus nephritis and KDIGO guidelines for glomerulonephritis.

ERA-EDTA Award for Research Excellence

Juan Jesus Carrero

Juan Jesus Carrero (Pharm, PhD Pharm, PhD Med, MBA, FERA) is a Professor of Kidney Epidemiology at the Department of Medical Epidemiology and Biostatistics (MEB) of Karolinska Institutet, Sweden. Dr. Carrero earned his pharmacy degree from the University of Granada, Spain, where he also completed a PhD in PharmacyHe received the first long-term fellowship of the ERA-EDTA to perform postdoctoral studies at Karolinska Institutet, where he undertook a PhD in Medicine and established academically.  

Dr. Carrero’s principal research interests are centered on the identification of modifiable causes of morbidity and mortality in persons with CKD through clinical epidemiological approaches. His interest areas involve lifestyle habits, diet quality, monitoring and outcomes of nutritional abnormalities. His other focus concerns medication errors, drug safety and effectiveness in persons with CKD.  

Dr. Carrero has published over 450 peer-reviewed articles (H-index: Web of Science 70; Google Scholar 93, >36000 citations), as well as numerous book chapters. He is Chair of the European Renal Nutrition (ERN) Working Group of the ERA-EDTA and co-chair of the Total Nutrition Therapy (TNT) Renal Program of the International Society of Renal Nutrition and Metabolism (ISRNM). He was involved in the making of the 2020 KDOQI/AND and 2021 ESPEN guidelines for nutritional management of persons with CKD. He has received awards from the U.S. National Kidney Foundation and the Italian Society of Nephrology. 


ERA-EDTA Stanley Shaldon Award for Young Investigators

Thimoteus Speer

Thimoteus Speer is full professor for Translational Cardio-Renal Medicine and deputy head of the department of Nephrology and Hypertension at the Saarland University, Homburg/Saar Germany. His main research focus is to study the role of inflammation in the development of cardiovascular diseases in patients with chronic kidney disease and to explore processes leading to kidney fibrosis. Thereby, his research comprises clinical studies, large genetic association studies, as well as basic science investigation. His studies are published in the highest-ranked journals including the Lancet, Nature Immunology, Immunity, and Lancet Diabetes Endocrinology. He built up a well-equipped laboratory in Homburg/Saar including state-of-the-art techniques such as superresolution laser-scanning microscopy and is the head of 15 lab members. In 2019, he has been awarded with the Heinz MaierLeibnitz award, which is the most important award for scientists in Germany aged below 40 years across all research disciplines. His work is embedded in several national and international research consortia including the German collaborative research center SFB/TRR219, which aims to identify mechanisms of cardiovascular diseases in patients with chronic kidney disease.